4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 19, 2015 4:16 PM by Philippe Baronti

After WIFI everywhere the LIFI seems safer, even more in a confine environment such as a car !

Philippe Baronti

I just discovered LIFI technology, supposed to replace, at least WIFI technology. I am not an expert and would like comments from those who are but WIFI is presented as "risky". In your house you can receive a lot of WIFI spot (neighborhood), no way to avoid. In the car, which is a confined environment we can also be exposed to different source like the one from your GPS and your telephone and I imagine that wireless technologies will not be reduced. So I vote for lower emission technologies.

Thank you for your lightened comments.

• Re: After WIFI everywhere the LIFI seems safer, even more in a confine environment such as a car !

I'm not a super expert but I know there is a lot of investment in this technology.

Unlike Wi-fi which is based on radio frequency waves, Li-fi is based on LED technology (light) or infra-red and near ultraviolet.

We still don't really know the bad effect of wi-fi but let us imagine that is kind of a wave cloud unlike Li-fi wich is more like a straight physical "wave", light.

So it is more secure (straight connection) and more "healthy". Companies are working on that to implement it on connected highways, convoys of semi-autonomous vehicles, connected cars...

Hope we'll have more information from real experts.

Thank you for raising this research area Philippe Baronti

1 person found this helpful
          • Re: After WIFI everywhere the LIFI seems safer, even more in a confine environment such as a car !
            Didier Rougeyron